Mayor & City Council


Mayor Sean Ashton 
District 2



Mayor Pro Tem

Rick Rodriguez 
District 3


Council Member

Blanca Pacheco 
District 1




Council Member

Fernando Vasquez
District 4 


Council Member

Alex Saab
District 5


The Downey City Council meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chamber of Downey City Hall located at 11111 Brookshire Avenue, Downey 90241. Council members are elected to a four-year term. Elections are held in November on the same date and time as the statewide general election. However, due to the enactment of a term limit provision, approved as a charter amendment in November 1993, council members are limited to two four-year terms of office. The mayor position rotates annually in December.  City of Downey Council Office 11111 Brookshire Avenue Downey, CA 90241 (562) 904-7274.

 Council District Map 

The City Council Members are elected officers identified in Government Code Section 87200 and file statements of economic interests with the City Clerk's Office. Copies of the statements of economic interests filed by the above elected officers may be obtained by visiting the offices of the Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC) or the City Clerk. The physical address of the FPPC is 428 J Street, Suite 620, Sacramento, California 95814. The physical address of the City Clerk's Office is 11111 Brookshire Avenue, Downey, California 90240. The statements of economic interests for some state and local government agency elected officers may be available in electronic format on the FPPC's website at

To view the City's Accomplishments for 2016-17, please click here.

To view the City's Accomplishments for 2015-16, please click here.

To view the City's Accomplishments for 2014-15, please click here.

To view the City's Accomplishments for 2013-14, please click here.

To view the City's Accomplishments for 2012-13, please click here.

To view the City Council's priorities report for 2011-12, please click here.